Out & About With Men

April 25, 2006

Another post about going out. All these inspired by trip last week.

Friday night, asked hubby “What time are we leaving tomorrow?” “9am” (Hell, so early, you think I’m a super women meh)

Hubby’s suppose to go for breakfast with FIL at 7am and MIL requested us to sent the maid over her place to help out clean the place for the mere 2 hours prior to the trip. ( We stayed at SIL’s place at Ara, PILs are at Subang), I can handle and get ready the kids by myself, no problem, provided been given ample of time. Though I can get up early to get ready, but the kids just isn’t ready. 1st they are not use to sleeping early, hence not been able to get up early the next morning. As much as I like to wake them up at 7.30am, it would be very difficult with grumpy cranky little faces. They usually wake up the earliest at 8am sometimes at 9am. Hubby always wants to rush and blame me for poor planning, poor time management. I need to pack the things, make the bed, clean the room (since it’s only our weekend home and not coming back till next week), prepare the food basket (make sure all the necessity for the kids are there, filled the water, clean all the bottles etc etc), when the kids wake up need to feed milk, feed breakfast (feeding WH itself will at least take 1/2 hours), after that need to bath and change both kids and myself. Hubby is expecting me to do this all by myself in within an hour the kids get up and be ready to go when he got home. (Getting a little furious of hubby not being understanding, of course end up SIL told MIL that the maid need to stay back to help, that’s how we made it on time. If not hubby will be home with a long sour face look)

I find that man (especially 大男人 – dai nam yan) don’t really give a damn to all these details. When they want to go, they think they are still the single, carefree guy that can leave the house any moment they want. ( For me going out with kids takes in a lot of consideration, what to bring, whether we will be back in time for meal , if not need to pack out etc etc). Sometimes I get really “mang zhang” with hubby. There are times that he would just wait for us in the car with the engine on, with sour face, as if we were holding up his time. (这些男人,以为还是王老五,两袖清风,骚骚屁股,说走就走)

It reminds me very much of my father too. When we were young, dad will also sit in the car and wait for us impatiently and he would always blame mum for being “lou hei” (漏气), blame us for waking up late, taking our own sweet time..blah blah blah. I guess men are all like that. Don’t want to help, but expecting fast and efficient result. *sigh*


Out & About

April 25, 2006

I wonder why the goverment in Malaysia has not impose a law that at least all children below 3 MUST travel in a car seat just like other “ang moh” countries and also in S’pore does. I have seen driver putting kids on the driver seat when driving not to mention young kids sitting on the front passenger’s lap and also worst young kids standing out from the sun roof while the car in going on quite high speed and navigating a corner. My family are among the majority of Malaysian, who has taken the child safety on road for granted, which still have a third world mentality when comes to travelling with kids in the car. Which still have the mindset that as long as I drive safely, as long as I hold on the child properly there won’t be any thing happen to the child. I wish I could be more insistent, but no one seems to take me seriously.

When I was pregnant with JS, one of the thing in my preparation list was to get a car seat. I redeemed one of those infant carrier car seat (for 0-12 months) from Bonuslink. Later on, SIL#1’s friend handed us down another infant carrier car seat (but this one can only last until the baby is 6 months old) and another forward facing car seat.

The infant carrier car seat is strapped permanently in my car which I use to ferry JS to the sitter’s place every day, and hubby will occationally have another infant carried in his car when he knows he has to pick JS up from the sitter’s house. It has never been permanently there, because to him, he finds that the car seat is space consuming. Every weekend family outing, my PILs will come with us in our car, so he finds the car seat a nuisane. (He drove a Waja then), because of the inconsistency, JS refuse to be strapped in the car seat when we are in hubby’s car, but she will sit quietly and behave in the car seat when travelling in my car. From the infant carrier, she “graduated” to the forward facing one at 13 months. We then bought another forward facing car seat because SIL offers to sent JS back home from sitter’s place occationally and I refuse to let JS rides in her car without being properly strapped up. We bought a bulky Chicco seat, which again is not permanently strap in either hubby or SIL’s car ( in fact we hardly use it and is still in very good condition..cost us RM700++). Asked hubby why he never put the Expensive car seat in his car, he replied “No space lah, where my father mother going to sit”

When WH is delivered, the only way to bring him around when I’m driving was put him in the infant carrier. But the problem arise. How am I going to secure the upright car seat in the back passenger seat?? (Again, this STUPID Malaysian designed car – KANCIL does not come with a back passenger seat belt) I have wanted to fix a seat belt in the car, but hubby gave up after visiting a few car accessories shops, they just don’t have it. Very reluctanly , I have to travel without strapping JS in the car. I was paranoid! Quite worried when I first let her sit behind by herself . Keep reminding her to sit still, not to play with the lock /door , not to climb up etc etc, put on the child lock and central lock the car as well.

Now that JS is going to be 4, she’s use to sitting and playing behind without been strapped up. WH has graduated from infant carrier and sitting in the forward facing car seats whenever we travels in MY car. The old forward facing seats has long been given away when we moved house. One of the infant carrier has been chucked in the storeroom at SIL’s house and another one in my boot. I think it’s a matter of habit and consistency. When they are in my car, they know their seats. But when in hubby’s car, they know they got a chance to roam free and would never want to be strapped up.

Worst still, one week before we were suppose to go to Fraser’s, SIL#1 called, “E, do you think all of us can fit into CW car?” ( That would be 7 adults + 2 kids) “I checked with CW first” ( eventhough I know that wouldn’t make sense, but still I have to tell her I need to check with hubby. Because I don’t want SIL to think that I’m always the controlling one at home and she always thinks that I’m the decision maker, in away or other to influence hubby’s decision against whatever about his family) “Darling, your sister said all of us go into 1 car lah. I think it will be very cramped, somemore JS need a seat by herself. You go tell your sister lah” (Ever since hubby changed his car to Naza Ria when I preggie with WH (with his Waja, with only 1 kid already full of stuff most of the time, so with 2 kids we need bigger car), SIL#1 will suggest all of us go into 1 car, for convinience. Both SIL owns a Beamer, BIL got a Merz, even FIL got his Kembara, but still they prefer to travel in 1 car) There were even times that SIL suggested that I sit in the front passenger seat holding one of the kids in front!! SIL#1 will always say, “So easy for everyone to go in 1 car huh” (yea, yea, but you are also putting the kids safety as stake)

Short journey is still ok, but long journey is really killing. The last time we travel long journey was to Malacca. I dreaded for the journey to over. FIL will always take up the front passenger seat. MIL due to her back pain and knee pain, she can’t possibly climb to the seat right back end, so she and SIL#1 (which is big size) will take both the middle seats. The maid, SIL#2 (petite), me and both the kids will have to go “third class” seats at the far end. It’s very bumpy to seat at the back, holding and balancing a very mobile kids. WH wants to be nursed, JS wants to sit on my lap at the same time, both kids fighting, crying, all these plus the bumpiness makes me more dizzy. SIL and MIL will offer to JS, “come sit with ah mah” “come, sit here with ku ma” but because of lack of space, JS tends to be grumpy and would not comply. I want to scream, please treat these kids as an individual. They are entitled for their own seat as well, not on our laps or squeezing in between us!!

There is this habit of JS when she’s in hubby’s car. She thinks that she’s in the airplane, her mummy and the maid is the air-stewardess to serve her (Not that she’s been on the plane before). First thing she got into hubby’s car is to sit comfortably on her seat then she will request us to put down the seat into a recline post, ask for her milk and then a blanket to cover her up (no matter cold or hot, she just need the blanket) Short or long journey, she will do so. So whenever there’s a lot of people in the car, and she don’t get her seat especially when she’s really tired and sleepy, she will get very very cranky. I know why she’s cranky, no one else seems to be able to listen to this cue and thought that she’s just plain manja. I can’t speak right up that she needs her space, that would not be quite a nice to say it in front of my SILs and PILs. ( I seems to have alot of obligation to my in laws that I need to jaga hubby’s face, not to put him in a difficult position of sandwishing between his wife and family. there are lot of things that I don’t agree to, but still must stay silent)

Now when we travel in hubby’s car, the car in like a war zone with things here and there. Tissues, shoes, slippers, books, pens , crayons, milk bottle, blanket, pillows all over the place and floor… and the kids are not restraint to their seat. They are good when in my car, but a real monkey in hubby’s car, of course I’m trouble with GUILT.


PS:/ I remembered seeing this advertisement from the kementerian on TV. Something about love yourself, love your children, buckled them up when travelling in the car. How come they just don’t enforce the rule and make it compulsory? How come they don’t set up a place that we can go and get to fix the seat belts for the back passenger seats for those old model cars?

The newer model of Kancil has got back seat belt already. ( I got mine in year 2002, without back passenger seat belts), went to the Perodua Service Center, asked them if they can fix for me, they said no such service, no spare parts. So BLARDY STUPID isn’t it!!


Weekend At Fraser’s – Part II

April 25, 2006

Continue from part I

Sunday morning, all of us woke up at 8am. Breakfast already ready. We had Hanainese Toast Bread with Marmalade, Coffee, Sausage, Sunny Side Up and Fried Beehoon. All from Mrs Leong’s kitchen.

After breakfast, changed the kids and went to The Paddock. JS has wanted to ride on the horse. They just opened at 9am , and we were the first customer. JS was expecting some small tiny pony, but when she looked at the big full grown horse, she got a bit scared. When she’s about to mount on the horse, the horse turned and stared at her and frighten her quite a bit and she refused to go up for the ride.

Meanwhile, WH saw JS’s crying, he also followed and refuse to ride the horse as well. But we force him to. So eventually he went for a round, fussing all the way on the horse

WH with ta ku ma (SIL#1)

Since we have bought the ticket, and no one else wanted a ride, so hubby has to go for it.

The same place, 2 years ago, when JS was 15th month.

After the ride, we headed back to the cottage, packed and ready to go home. Didn’t want to have lunch there because of the winding road down, with full stomach, it will be quite unbearable. ( So we missed a chance to taste Mrs Leong’s yummy Hainanese Chicken Rice and Scones – maybe next time lah).

Again, on the way down, I kept burping and feeling dizzy. Real motion sick. JS as usual.. vomitted again and we have to break journey a few times.

Decided to have lunch at 1U Dragon-I. Head straight to 1U. After lunch the kids already very tired and not able to do much window shopping. Both SIL went ahead with their shoping spree while we sent my PILs back to Subang and we headed back to Seremban right after there.

Sunday is also the first time I didn’t cook porriadge for WH. For lunch, he had baby jarred food top with whatever we having at dragon-i. He’s still not use to eating what we are eating, just playing the food and nibbling it.