Using Phone

It just crossed my mind that how come I have not taught JS how to use the phone earlier. Of course she has been exposed to phone, be it toy phone or the real one since she was a baby but I just realize that I have not taught her how to dial and make calls. She can answer the phone and all the while when we wanted her to call her Guma or Ahmah, it’s usually either hubby or me making the call for her.

When I was away attending classes, one night when I got home to a very insecured and sad looking JS, the idea suddenly came striking in my head. I taught her how to make phones call to daddy to make her feel better. Instead of dialing from the speed dial and phone book, I made her to punch in the numbers that I’ve written on the paper for her.  To her, this experience seems to be a new discovery. The next day I wrote down my numbers and hubby’s number for her on the paper for her to keep and told her that she can call us anytime.  She’s now enjoying her newfound discovery. I hope very soon she can remember our numbers by heart.

It’s vital for parents to teach children to make calls at young age. It’s a survival skill. It’s not just enough to teach them to dial from speed dial or phone book, it’s important to teach the child to memorize at least the parent’s numbers by heart. This will come in handy in any emergency situation if the child does not have/lost the handphone.

Now JS’s been asking me for a handphone for her new school term.

“Mummy, can I have a handphone to bring to school?”

“Why?”

“because I want to call mummy.”

“you can use the teacher’s or school phone” 😉

One Response to Using Phone

  1. jazzmint says:

    wah wah…so pandai can ask for handphone somemore kekeke

    now I realize…it’s the environment that make the kids so materialistic!!

Leave a comment